gentrification

Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 1:31am
“Manhattanville represents a new chapter in Columbia’s history, and, perhaps, a chance to reconcile darker aspects of its past—both immediate and remote.”
Mon, Apr 11, 2016, 12:02am
“What will happen when Harlem becomes white?” Well, here’s your answer.
Tue, Feb 16, 2016, 10:02pm
The Harlem community has been going through a “food renaissance” because of gentrification. While this has resulted in new and interesting restaurants, the price is not always accessible for the original community members.
Sun, Dec 13, 2015, 6:51pm
Wealthy elites moving into West Chelsea may be one of the causes of gentrification in neighborhoods as far away as Manhattanville and Washington Heights.
Thu, Oct 8, 2015, 4:28am
Does Morningside Heights’ emerging food scene reflect an oncoming revolution in American food culture, or is it just gentrification disguised by kale?
Mon, Feb 23, 2015, 12:06am
The conversation surrounding gentrification needs more nuance to be effective.  
Thu, Feb 19, 2015, 12:03am
Why is preserving Harlem’s present identity more important than preserving any of its former identities? Dynamic neighborhoods like Harlem are defined by change.  
Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 1:24am
The construction of a 7-Eleven is the latest sign of change in West Harlem’s Little Senegal, a neighborhood known for its high number of West African immigrants.
Thu, Sep 25, 2014, 5:13am
Brooklyn’s DUMBO Art Festival has endured for 18 years as the neighborhood has undergone radical changes. 
Thu, Sep 18, 2014, 2:39am
The owners of a building on 125th Street and Frederick Douglass Boulevard tapped real estate broker Ariel Property Advisors to find developers to build an up-to-108,000-square-foot mixed-use facility on the site.

Pages